top of page
This Week's Quote

A newborn baby has only three demands. They are warmth in the arms of its mother, food from her breasts, and security in the knowledge of her presence. Breastfeeding satisfies all three.

 

~Grantly Dick-Read

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

#WBW2016 Positive News, 1 August

TOP POSTS

TOP STORIES

World Breastfeeding Week: Stunning and humorous photos of moms breastfeeding - In honor of the week dedicated to all things breastfeeding, USA Today offers a look at some memorable photos of women working to normalize breastfeeding in public.

Breastfed Infants’ Brains Develop Better, Faster - A study published in July in the journal Pediatrics found that children who received more breast milk during their first 28 days of life had more gray matter at various locations within the brain at the age of 7, compared to those who received less.

Over half of Chinese under-6-month babies breastfed - Over 50 percent of Chinese babies aged under six months are purely breastfed, according to a National Health and Family Planning Commission (NHFPC) official Monday, the first day of 2016 World Breastfeeding Week.

A lactation expert busts 10 breastfeeding myths - Katherine Fisher, a lactation consultant with over 20 years of experience, bust through 10 breastfeeding myths for mothers preparing to breastfeed.

31 Facts You Didn't Know About Breastfeeding To Honor Breastfeeding Awareness Month - Olivia Youngs lists some lesser-known facts, noting, "More than just raising awareness about the importance of breastfeeding, this month is crucial for encouraging people of all genders, ages, races, orientations, and demographics, that they can and should support breastfeeding, regardless of what they chose to do for their baby."

CELEBRITY NEWS

Top 5 Pinoy breastfeeding celebs - More celebrities are becoming breastfeeding advocates and influence the general public not to shame breastfeeding mothers. Moreover, it promotes the health benefits of the practice. Featured are five Pinoy (Filipino) breastfeeding celebrities.

Alyssa Milano Shares Brelfie Supporting #WBW2016 and #SDGs - The actress captioned her beautiful photo with "#WBW2016 #breastfeeding #WBWGoals #SDGsWorld Breastfeeding Week 2016 is August 1-7, celebrating links between breastfeeding and the Sustainable Development Goals."

13 Celebrity Moms Who Show Us the Beauty of Breastfeeding - Here are some celebrity mommas who help the mission of breastfeeding awareness.

ADVOCATE OF THE DAY

Annie Olsen is the #WBW2016 Day 2 Advocate of the Day. Annie shares her positive journey and thanks her breastfeeding counselor for inspiring her:

"When I got pregnant with my first child I knew I wanted to breastfeed. My hubby and I went to a breastfeeding class at WIC. We learned a lot. Things I never knew about.

"After I had my son, he was nursing like a champ. We did have a little bit of a hard time on my right side since I have a slightly inverted nip but we got the hang of it.

"As time went by, I got more and more passionate about breastfeeding that my breastfeeding counselor from WIC, Bethany Griffin-Shetler, asked me if I wanted to be a breastfeeding counselor. On July 21st 2015 I started my online schooling. I learned so much and helped so many moms online. Through groups or moms on my friends list. I plan to further my education to become a Lactation consultant when I am done with my breastfeeding counselor schooling. I love helping mothers reach their breastfeeding goals.

"I am tandem nursing my 28 month old and my almost 3 month old boys. Bethany helped me reach and pass my breastfeeding goal. I hope to help a mom reach and or even pass her breastfeeding goal. Thank you, Bethany!"

DAILY ACTIONS

The Daily Action for 2 August is to share a graphic about breastfeeding and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The graphics can be found here: http://worldbreastfeedingweek.org/resources.shtml. After watching the slideshow, scroll down to GIFs Galore! and WBW 2016 Themes.

The Bonus Action for 2 August is to write a post on social media about breastfeeding and a SDG that resonates with you. Personal stories bring goals and themes to life! Perhaps you were once in a situation without clean water and were still able to feed your baby thanks to breastfeeding. Or perhaps your employer has supported your breastfeeding goals and, in turn, you have become a more productive employee. What is your SDG story? Visit http://worldbreastfeedingweek.org/resources.shtml and scroll down to Breastfeeding and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

JOIN US

bottom of page