top of page
This Week's Quote

A newborn baby has only three demands. They are warmth in the arms of its mother, food from her breasts, and security in the knowledge of her presence. Breastfeeding satisfies all three.

 

~Grantly Dick-Read

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

#WBW2016 Positive News, 31 July

TOP POSTS

TOP STORIES

Students take out rally to mark World Breastfeeding Week - Students from various educational institutions in Puducherry, India took out a rally stressing the importance of breastfeeding of children to mark World Breastfeeding Week.

Breastfeeding rate hits 45.5 percent - According to the agency’s statistics collected last year, Taiwan’s breastfeeding rate surpassed the world average rate of 38 percent and is getting closer to the WHO’s global target of increasing the rate of exclusive breastfeeding in the first six months up to at least 50 percent by 2025.

Marybeth Merritt: A key factor in a better world - Breastfeeding is key to the 17 U.N. Sustainable Development Goals aimed at ending poverty, protecting the planet and ensuring prosperity.

It's World Breastfeeding Week - The benefits of breastfeeding will be highlighted during World Breastfeeding Week from Monday. The week has a theme of sustainability this year, organisers say.

ADVOCATE OF THE DAY

Nikki Hooper Goodwin is the #WBW2016 Day 1 Advocate of the Day. Nikki shares her journey to a positive experience:

"My breastfeeding story started with...not breastfeeding. I went through a lot of struggles with trying to breastfeed my first child and found out quick that it not only takes a village to raise a child, but also to raise a mother. That's a story for another time though.

"When I found out I was pregnant with my second child, I knew I had to make sure I put a great support system in place to succeed at exclusively breastfeeding her. I was BLESSED to have an amazing birth team, which included my midwife, two wonderful doulas, and my husband. They were there from the first latch, through the struggles, all the way to our toddler 'gymnurstics' that we are currently living.

"Through my whole breastfeeding journey, I have been able to see my body as this amazing structure that I never before knew it to be. 17 months later, I am still amazed that my body alone, was the soul nourishment for another human life. MY BODY alone, sustained that little life, and made her not only live but thrive for the first year of her life.

"I'm in awe of the fact that now, even though she eats plenty of solid foods and is always on the go, she still finds nourishment and comfort in her 'milkies'; that she will take time out of her busy toddler exploration, to slow down, quiet down, and look so lovingly at her mama while she has some sips of mama's milk, before running off to play some more. Those moments are fleeting as she gets older and will forever be cherished.

"Breastfeeding is first and foremost about sustenance for your child, but beyond that, is so much more. I'm sure you've heard people say that a mother's love is something that cannot be described and that you'll never know until you experience it for yourself; for me, breastfeeding is the same way, there is a bond there that cannot be replicated.

"My breastfeeding journey has led me to be so passionate that I am working towards becoming an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC), so that I can help other women be successful in whatever their breastfeeding goals are. If I can help a handful of mothers succeed in nurturing their children with their bodies, find confidence in what their bodies are capable of, and be proud and unashamed of it, it will be worth all of the time and effort put into my journey to IBCLC.

"My one piece of 'wisdom' as a mama who has been there is this: Don't give up, you're doing an AMAZING job! Every drop of breastmilk is so beneficial to your baby, and you should be proud of yourself for anything you are able to provide them with and your devotion to trying, is enough in itself. You are enough!"

DAILY ACTIONS

The Daily Action for 1 August is to contact your local media and request coverage of World ‪‎Breastfeeding‬ Week. More information about reaching out to media can be found in our "How to Blitz" guide at tinyurl.com/bfblitz.

The Bonus Action for 1 August is to learn how to share POSITIVE versus NEGATIVE news. What to do with the negative breastfeeding news? Find out here: http://goo.gl/U3CtZm

JOIN US

bottom of page