top of page
This Week's Quote

A newborn baby has only three demands. They are warmth in the arms of its mother, food from her breasts, and security in the knowledge of her presence. Breastfeeding satisfies all three.

 

~Grantly Dick-Read

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

#WBW2016 Positive News, 3 August

TOP POSTS

TOP STORIES

Hospitals organise awareness programmes for Breast Feeding Week - Hospitals in the city of Coimbatore, India are organising various awareness programmes and events for young mothers and mothers to be on the importance of breast feeding for their baby’s health.

Viet Nam breastfeeding campaign normalizes practice, improves rates - A programme known as “Alive & Thrive”, the ad showed cute babies “talking” about the benefits of exclusive breastfeeding and told mothers how they could access breastfeeding support. Alive & Thrive, a programme managed by FHI 360 and funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, was launched in Viet Nam in 2009 to improve breastfeeding rates.

Exclusive breastfeeding curbs diarrhoea, pneumonia cases - In a speech during the launch of the world breastfeeding week held at a Garissa, Kenya hotel, Garissa County Health CEC Hubbie Hussein said exclusive breastfeeding almost eliminates an infant’s exposure to unsafe food or water and saves millions of lives annually worldwide.

18 Heartwarming Photos Of Dads Supporting Breastfeeding Moms - Photographer and mom of three Megan Soto has spent three years taking pictures of nursing moms for the Public Breastfeeding Awareness Project. But she only recently discovered an important part of normalizing breastfeeding: dads.

ADVOCATES OF THE DAY

Crystal-Lynn and Carla Graziano from New York, NY USA are the #WBW2016 Day 4 Advocates of the Day. They talk about their experience with volunteering and supporting their mom in her breastfeeding advocacy journey.

From Crystal-Lynn:

"My Name is Crystal-Lynn Graziano and I am 15 year old. I am a Senior in the Girls Scouts. I have been a Girl Scout since I am 6 years old. I am also a Explorer for the NYPD. I do a lot of volunteering. I Foster cats for Brooklyn Animal Action. I socialize cats and kittens and take care of them till we can find them a forever homes. My sister and I Volunteer at the YMCA when they do fund raisers to help pay for children who cant afford membership fees. I also like to help my mom when she has breastfeeding events.

"I support breastfeeding because Its healthy and natural. My mother Breastfeeds my brother and I always been accepting of that. Its something that has always been natural in our home. When my brother was little he never liked a cover over his face when nursing when my mom tried to use a cover outside. I don't think anyone would want to be covered when they eat. I believe all moms should be able to feed their babies when ever or where ever their babies are hungry. It is part of nature for a mother to feed her babies. And this can be seen with every species of mammal. Cats and dogs and rabbits, etc . They are not told to cover to feed their babies. They feed their babies whenever their babies are hungry.

"I hope one day more people would be open minded about breastfeeding. I think people should learn about how healthy and natural breastfeeding is before they say something rude and mean. I will continue to help my mom support breastfeeding with her events and educating people to help change that."

From Carla:

"My name is Carla Graziano and I'm 14 years old. I am a Girl Scout and I've been a girl scout since I was 5 years old. I recently earned my silver award for doing a project on donating hair to breast cancer patients and breast cancer awareness. I myself donated 15 inches of hair, My mom and sister also donated hair for my project as well. I am an explorer with the NYPD . We volunteer with Sean Casey animal rescue and much more with the explorers. My sister and I also have a YouTube channel called Twisted Sistas and we really love to make videos together.

"I also volunteer a lot with my mom and her breastfeeding events. My first event will I will never forget we did a nurse in at the Wendy Williams studio. My mom let us make signs and the best part was we got to skip school that day. My sister and I also helped my mom with the Big Latch last year in Times Square, NYC. It was a so surreal to see so many moms nurse their babies together.

"I support breastfeeding because it's natural and healthy. Its also a woman's right and I am all for woman's rights everywhere. I was also a breastfed baby myself . My mom breastfeeds my brother who is 2.5. I never seen anything wrong with breastfeeding. I could never understand how people could have an issue with breastfeeding. My mom has always spoke about breastfeeding in our home, so when my brother was born, I knew she was proving him with the best. I hope that when I am older and have children, breastfeeding will be normalized and people are more accepting.

"Quote- 'Be the change you wish to see in the world' ― Mahatma Gandhi"

MEDIA BLITZ ACTION OF THE DAY

Most media outlets nowadays have corresponding webpages, even if they are not primarily online news sources.

When you find online links to news coverage of your event, share them on your personal social network pages, in your group pages, and with ALL of the supporting groups/pages!

DAILY ACTIONS

The ‎Daily Action‬ for 4 August is to write a "thank you" note to someone who supports breastfeeding.

If you are nursing or have ever nursed a child: who has made a positive impact on your breastfeeding journey? How have they done so?

If you haven't nursed a child, but support a mother's right to breastfeed: who is someone you know that supports positive breastfeeding and would appreciate an extra pat on the back?

Include a personal story. WHY is this person receiving a thank you from you? HOW did she or he change your life?

Here are some ways to go about writing your thank you note:

ONLINE THANK YOUS

-In the comments: Tag someone who you want to thank.

-Via our supporting pages: go to the event description. Pick a page. Send in a "thank you note" that you would like to have published on that page.

-Send an email to someone you'd like to thank.

HANDWRITTEN THANK YOU NOTES

-Write a card and deliver it in person.

-Drop a card in the mail.

The ‎Bonus Action‬ for 4 August is to like and join our supporting pages and groups! One way to promote positive news is by supporting the pages that consistently create and distribute it. Visit the event description or the webpage listing supporters. Review each of the pages and make sure you are following all of them. Did you "like" any new pages today?

JOIN US

bottom of page